Premed 101 Forums

Third Year Clinical Experience

Hello! 

I am a third year dental student and we have just recently started our clinical experience on real patients. I must say I love it! It's great getting to practice dentistry on real people and interact with different personalities every day. I am just suffering from some anxiety due to the pressure and expectations that is on us now. I performed decently (average) in the pre-clinical semesters and lecture material, but I still happen to forget things during clinic, whether it is certain techniques or diagnostic criteria. I have gotten poor grades (and I mean really poor! I failed a couple) on a few clinics so far and we have just recently started! It's making me very worried about my performance. I know this is mainly just anxiety and should improve with time, but my low grades have been due to deficiencies like misdiagnosing, cutting a preparation beyond the cavitation, forgetting to gather important medical/dental history information, and at one instance I almost hit the pulp, which required us to change up the restorative plan.

I'm just curious, to all the 4th years or graduated dentists out there, am I an anomaly, or is this what I should expect? I am mostly worried because I have heard of people being required to repeat the year due to these sorts of deficiencies in clinic. In fact, I have been told that one of the graduated classes at our college had 3 people required to repeat their year. I really don't want to repeat anything! I'm an OOP student and my parents have invested a lot in me, financially and emotionally, to be here. I don't want to disappoint them or myself by failing a whole year. If there's any reassurance you have for me, or any practical tips to overcome these problems, I would really appreciate it!