Premed 101 Forums

Lost between choosing doing a master, or taking a 5 th year, or going to US

Hi everyone,

I am currently a 3rd year undergrad student with pretty much a fair GPA of 8.0 out of 9 (approximately 3.78 out of 4). This is however for my 2 years only (1st and 2nd year) and I might be able to do good this year and take it to 3.80 this year (gpa of 3 years). However, I am absolutely lost between deciding which pathway is the right one to take and action upon that for my 4th year. These are my choices:
1- I can do 5th year and take things easy as possible to boost my GPA
2- just graduate and get my bachelor and directly take a masters
3- still take 5th year and go to american dental schools.
I need to say that the cost is important for me too. Right now I am in ontario and I have already lost the chance of getting into western dental school as I dont meet the requirements sadly. Any help will be much appreciated

If cost is important to you then going to the states would be a terrible decision. The majority of people going to the states grossly underestimate how crippling it is to pay off $500-600k, not including interest. The cost, unless you will be inheriting a practice or your family has the means, IMO is not worth becoming a dentist (or any other profession).

If UofT is your only option you may need to do a 5th + masters.

17 hours ago, BROSCIENTIST said:

If cost is important to you then going to the states would be a terrible decision. The majority of people going to the states grossly underestimate how crippling it is to pay off $500-600k, not including interest. The cost, unless you will be inheriting a practice or your family has the means, IMO is not worth becoming a dentist (or any other profession).

If UofT is your only option you may need to do a 5th + masters.