Premed 101 Forums

What is my best approach?

golimumab

Older non-trad here planning to apply to medicine in the next year or two.   I live in Ontario, and I’m looking for suggestions as to how I should approach things.

My educational background and career are in the arts, and I’m a successful small business owner, so I might be attractive to non-trad friendly schools, such as McMaster.  I’ve recently taken a number of science courses part-time (bio, cell bio, biochem, genetics, etc.) and got an A+ in each one, so I’m confident in my ability to excel in the sciences.  I haven’t taken the MCAT yet because I don’t want it to expire before I apply to med school.

The big problem is my undergrad GPA is about 3.65, and is pretty much the same in all four years.  I have a Masters, however, and my cGPA from all courses ever taken is about 3.70.  

As things stand I can either:

a) Do another year or two of full-time undergrad study to be competitive at Queen’s, Western, maybe UOttawa.  My work schedule is flexible and I could study full-time (perhaps through Athabasca) while      continuing to earn a good living….so this isn’t entirely unappealing.

b) Apply to the following schools with the grades I have:

1. Western (best 5 full-year courses policy means my two best years of undergrad would be 3.84)

2. McMaster (cGPA would be 3.7)

3. NOSM (my career serves the Francophone community and I am fluent in French, so this might work)

Am I missing anything important here?  Are there any other non-trad friendly schools that would be an option for me?  Any realistic options for OOP schools?

Thanks!

I think you have identified the options quite well.

I think before you start doing more undergrad you should study for and give the MCAT a go. Atleast study hard and write practice tests to see where you benchmark.   You will need a fairly high score for UWO and MAC (CARs to counteract alow cGPA).