Premed 101 Forums

Not sure what to do.

kelaurn

This is what we’re working with after having converted my GPA via the OMSAS conversion table: 

year 1: 1.45 

year 2: 3.31

year 3: 3.80

year 4: 3.90

year 5: 4.00

My cGPA is still quite low due to my first two years. That means I’m not very competitive at schools that look at your overall GPA. I also don’t have many course prerequisites for various other schools. My goal this year is to study hard for the MCAT (I’ve never written it before) and then apply to Queens, Dalhousie, and Western in the upcoming cycle. I understand that there is a maratime component for Dal, but I obtained my degree from there and only moved back home because I was offered a job at Sick Kids. Currently I’m an Ontario resident. 

Honestly, I never thought medicine was in the cards for me, so that’s why my undergrad is quite messy in terms of prerequisites. However, I’ve made the current year while waiting to apply all about getting research exposure, continuing to develop my skills in a clinical setting, continuing to volunteer, and studying hard for the MCAT. 

While I’m applying to medical school in the upcoming cycle, I’m thinking about applying for my masters to become a nurse practitioner incase I don’t get in, and then applying again to med school in my last year of my masters. 

Does this seem like a reasonable plan? Honestly, I’m really new at this and not sure what I’m doing and could really use some advice from those who have been there and done that. 

Thank you for listening to me. 

37 minutes ago, JohnGrisham said:

So, are you currently a nurse? 

Are your years full-time or rather meet requirements for queens and western?

I am currently a nurse and all of my university years, except first year, have been full time (I honestly just shouldn’t have gone to university in that year lol). In particular, I have taken full course loads in my final two years, so I do meet the course load requirements for Dal, Queens and Western :)