Premed 101 Forums

Interviiew invite before the 8 march

Hi guys! 

I didnt get an interview this year but my stats are pretty good (9.4 and a lot of clubs/volonteering/research hours).I'm wondering how common is it to get an interview if you are on the waitlist ? 

The last Day of interview is the 8th of march.Im in 3rd year and i want to drop biochem to take chem gen 2 instead.However if they call me and i get an interview  ....i would not qualify anymore because biochem is one of my prerequisites . 

38 minutes ago, Workinghardtobeadoc said:

Hi guys! 

I didnt get an interview this year but my stats are pretty good (9.4 and a lot of clubs/volonteering/research hours).I'm wondering how common is it to get an interview if you are on the waitlist ? 

The last Day of interview is the 8th of march.Im in 3rd year and i want to drop biochem to take chem gen 2 instead.However if they call me and i get an interview  ....i would not qualify anymore because biochem is one of my prerequisites . 

Just due to the nature of the application process, I would place the waitlist movement on the extremely uncommon/rare scenario. Ottawa interviews 575 applicants, and of which i think there was something like 2700 meeting the excellence of marks criteria who proceeded to file review. All students not invited to interview are technically waitlisted. I would focus more on what you can do best for your grades this year, even if that means dropping biochem. Just be mindful that if you are currently taking biochem and drop it this semester, you lose the ability for weighted GPA at UofT if you do not immediately replace it with chemistry.