Premed 101 Forums

Tips for an M2 who's about to start organizing electives and core rotations.

Hi all, 

I'm a second year medical student at University of Sherbrooke. We have reached the point in our year where we have to choose our core elective track (in other words, the order of our rotations) and start planning our electives. 

I am a student who is VERY interested in radiology (1st choice) and also very interested in nuclear medicine and radiation oncology (tied for second choice).

I have 10 weeks total of pre-carms electives. My first elective is only a 2 week elective in the month of October 2019 and my other 8 weeks can either be split into 2x 4 week electives, 1x4week + 2x2week electives, or 4x2week electives. 

My questions are the following:

(1) what core rotations are good to have before carms for someone who's interested in radiology? To keep it simple, should I be aiming to pick a track that places surgical rotations earlier, or one that focuses more on internal med? Which rotations do you guys think should be reserved for later on in the year (when one has more experience) because they're more intensive?

(2) I really want to match at a school that is within a 3 hour distance from Montreal or at a school IN Montreal. That being said, I can focus my electives around my top choice Quebec schools (Montreal and McGill) only or I can reserve one elective for queens or Ottawa. I was wondering which of these schools are MOST selective in interviewing students who have actually done an elective there (in other words, would not taking any electives at Ottawa or queens hurt my chances of getting an interview there?) Also, would taking a 2 week elective at an Ontario school be foolish? Would taking many 2 week electives in order to cover many schools be worse than just choosing 2 schools for 4 week electives? I am an anglophone btw so I am perfectly functional in English (even more so than French ironically enough). 

Thanks for the advice!!