Premed 101 Forums

Journalist with minimal science background...med school prospects?

I'm new to this forum :)

The last time I studied math or science was in grade 11. I have an honours BA in english and masters in journalism and have worked as a copyeditor, editor and reporter for the last seven years. 

I know that non-science applicants to med school aren't uncommon, but is it necessary to get at least some science courses under my belt before considering applying? 

5 hours ago, SomeGuyOverThere said:

I'm new to this forum :)

The last time I studied math or science was in grade 11. I have an honours BA in english and masters in journalism and have worked as a copyeditor, editor and reporter for the last seven years. 

I know that non-science applicants to med school aren't uncommon, but is it necessary to get at least some science courses under my belt before considering applying? 

at most school not really - some have some prerequisites but many don't

a two  things pop to mind - are your undergraduate marks high enough to be competitive, do the schools you are considering require the mcat  (which is a test where about 1/2 the material is science) or those courses.

some will argue that even if not necessary it might be a good idea to try some science courses. Perfectly valid opinion, although medical school itself is designed to actually teach you the medicine (and I would argue a lot of premed science courses don't really apply and are far less useful than people make out). 

As a general comment, I would recommend going to the websites of schools that interest you, and looking at both the hard prerequisites as well what kind of attributes an average admitted student has.  This is really the only way to know what you need to do to get into medical school.