Premed 101 Forums

Studying for mcat with limited time?

kreedz

So I was planning to write the mcat late this summer, but I am going to be working 9-5 five days a week for the whole summer, plus quite a commute to and from the job. This would only leave me a few hours to study at night, and I guess i will spend the whole weekends studying as well. Its my first time taking the mcat and i know its content heavy but does anyone know if this will be possible? I'm pretty nervous because studying usually takes me a lot of time.

Thanks a lot.

Still enough time. You don't really need 2-3 months of full-time study like some premeds do.  You need effective study habits, good baseline and focus on practice questions/active learning over passive content review. 

People overblow the content aspects of the MCAT, much of it is using basic content knowledge, coupled with critical thinking and the information they present to you in the passage. Very few questions rely solely on discrete factual knowledge. 

39 minutes ago, JohnGrisham said:

Still enough time. You don't really need 2-3 months of full-time study like some premeds do.  You need effective study habits, good baseline and focus on practice questions/active learning over passive content review. 

People overblow the content aspects of the MCAT, much of it is using basic content knowledge, coupled with critical thinking and the information they present to you in the passage. Very few questions rely solely on discrete factual knowledge. 

Although few questions rely directly on discrete factual knowledge, I think that you really need to know the ins and outs of the content before you can apply critical thinking. Depending on your current level of knowledge, learning the content to this level can take time. So I suggest you take a practice exam to assess your base level.

And I agree; active learning is much more effective than passive content review. 

6 minutes ago, obiwankenobi said: