Premed 101 Forums

How is anatomy at your medical school?

Let's talk about anatomy education in Canadian medical schools. 

How is it taught at your school? 

Do you learn on cadavers at your school? 

Do you feel it's taught effectively? 

Is anatomy taught continuously throughout medical school, only once at the beginning of the first year, or not at all?

Is anatomy mandatory for you? 

Are there any key features that you think make anatomy at your school better than or not as good as elsewhere? 

Do you feel the amount and depth of anatomy education you receive at your medical school prepares you well for medicine rotations & electives?  Surgery rotations and electives?  Radiology electives? Clinical practice in your preferred field?

I am curious about the differences between Canadian medical schools in this regard.  Especially after hearing that McMaster doesn't have cadavers, and anatomy is an optional part of the curriculum there.

Hi, I'm a first year med student at UBC.

How is it taught at your school?  Our curriculum is largely case based and as we go through weeks we have different themes (e.g. COPD, diabetes, asthma, depression etc.). In the average week, our anatomy is taught as a one hour lecture plus a 2-3 hour session in the general anatomy lab where we do dissection on human cadavers. Typically, anatomy labs are consistent with the theme of the week. For example, during our week on stroke, we dissected the skull and brain. 

Do you learn on cadavers at your school? Yes. Takes some getting used to. Honestly, I still have moments of apprehension, profound respect for the donor, and gratefulness for the insight they offer us.