Premed 101 Forums

2nd Degree: Course load for eligibility

Hi,

I am currently in my first year of my second bachelor's degree and I took 4 classes per semester (i.e. 12 credits per semester for a total of 24 this year). I am planning on taking 4 classes per semester again next year for a total of 48 credits by the end of my second year. I will be applying in fall 2020 with my 48 credits (i.e. in the third year of my second degree).

However, on Mcgill's website it says:

"Applicants may be considered on the basis of a second, subsequent undergraduate degree (minimum 60 credits). However, 45 consecutive graded credits (in a second/alternate bachelor's degree program) must be completed by the November 1 application deadline. The remaining 15 (or more) credits must be completed by July 31 of the year of entry to medical school, and these must be at a level comparable to that which appears in the academic records submitted at the time of application."

Does anyone know if the 45 credits that need to be taken consecutively automatically means 15 credits per semester for a second degree? Or is having 12 credits fine. I would also respect the minimum of 60 credits by July 31st.

I just don't know if the fact that I took 4 classes per semester (i.e. 12 credits instead of 15) screws me over or not. PLEASE HELP!

Thank you :)

3 hours ago, zackattack881 said:

Hi,

I am currently in my first year of my second bachelor's degree and I took 4 classes per semester (i.e. 12 credits per semester for a total of 24 this year). I am planning on taking 4 classes per semester again next year for a total of 48 credits by the end of my second year. I will be applying in fall 2020 with my 48 credits (i.e. in the third year of my second degree).

However, on Mcgill's website it says: