Premed 101 Forums

Help developing 2-3 year plan

Hey all,

I am a recent graduate of an engineering degree from a Canadian university. As many before me, I realized late that I wanted to get into med, and my current application would be an absolute non-starter. I'm trying to develop a plan to get on track, and am looking for some help doing so. Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Current standing

cGPA: 3.5 (slightly lower on the omsas scale, between 3.45-3.5 ish)

Final semester GPA: 3.91 (again, might be a little lower on omsas)

I previously wrote the MCAT and would absolutely need to write again - i'm not too concerned about this.

EC's: Have volunteered in a lab and been involved with some minor volunteer experiences, but minimal.

Thoughts for moving forward

- Hoping to get a couple years of work experience in a setting that will develop transferable skills and prove maturity as a candidate

- Concurrently volunteer to round out my app (i have a few ideas on this, but again, meet some of those targets for rounding out my app)

- Write the MCAT again closer to my app date (not concerned about this, I have written before and know how to study much more effectively compared to 3 years ago)

My biggest concern is the low GPA. Any thoughts as to how/whether I can rectify this without a second undergrad? Another undergrad is kind of out of the question in terms of financials.

I'm happy to take a longer view, but any suggestions for getting on track and building a strong app would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hey thanks for the reply. I was in a different program for a year before taking eng so I only have to take 1 extra semester (4.5 years). I had a full course load throughout.

OMSAS GPA by semester:

Year 1 Sem 1: 3.5 GPA from 2 courses (3 full years that didn't contribute)

Year 1 Sem 2: 3.24 GPA from 5 courses

Year 2 Sem 1: 3.32 GPA from 3 courses (1 full year course not contributing - only took 4 this sem)