Premed 101 Forums

pharmD vs Nut

Hello,

I have to choose between to become Dietitian or pharmacist? I love both but I have to chose one. What' you thinks guy? pro vs con for each job

Thank you

Bonjour,

Je dois choisir entre étudier pour devenir nutritionniste- diététiste ou pharmacien? J'aime les deux mais je dois en choisir un programme. Qu'est-ce que vous pensez mec? pour et contre pour chaque emploi

Je vous remercie

2 hours ago, Nutri-pharmD said:

Hello,

I have to choose between to become Dietitian or pharmacist? I love both but I have to chose one. What' you thinks guy? pro vs con for each job

Thank you

Bonjour,

Je dois choisir entre étudier pour devenir nutritionniste- diététiste ou pharmacien? J'aime les deux mais je dois en choisir un programme. Qu'est-ce que vous pensez mec? pour et contre pour chaque emploi

Je vous remercie

Hi, I am a student in dietetics at McGill.

The following is my own opinion and might not be fully accurate!

I wouldn't suggest anyone to go in dietetics, it's not as fancy at it looks from the outside.

First of all, dietitians are very low paid. If you plan to work in Quebec, the starting salary is only around 37-40k a year. Considering all the effort it requires, PT/OT are by far better options.

Second of all, dietitians aren't as respected as they used to. This is caused by contradicting opinions between dietitians and other health care professionals such as doctors. Dietitians mostly base their recommendations on a  diet's sustainability and long term benefits, whereas doctor like to see fast results. This is particularly true for the ketogenic diet. There has been an increasing amount of doctors promoting this diet for weight loss although scientifical knowledge about the subject is quite limited. Furthermore, this diet is highly unsustainable and can lead to severe ED.