Premed 101 Forums

Unique Situation

Hello, 

I am currently a grade 12 student and trying to decide my post-secondary pathway. I have been accepted to med school in the UK (UCLan) and Ireland (RCSI) as well as undergrad programs here in Canada. Should I just go aboard and worry about getting a residency rather than staying here and trying to get into Med school? 

Thank you for your time. 

If your goal is to do residency and/or practice in Canada in the future, I would decline RCSI and UCLan. The disadvantages of being IMG for CaRMS are immense, and it is not worth it if you don't even give Canadian medical schools a chance. I have worked with people who did the direct to medical school route abroad from high school, and every single one of them has regretted it. The time you save by going straight to medical school internationally will generally be lost when you spend many years applying for residency after medical school.

If you want to be a taxi driver in Canada with a medical degree, then leave.

There are no worthwhile shortcuts. By avoiding the competitive lottery, you are selling yourself short and will end up with disappointment.  Have a Plan B in case you don’t get into medicine, work hard, stay motivated and let the chips fall where they may. Some members here have only gotten in after 5, 6 or 7;attempts. Persistence is absolutely required. 

To be frank, I don't think the cost of tuition at those schools is financially even worth it, let alone the risk of not matching and limiting your choice of specialty significantly as well as ROS contracts.

I would do the undergrad in Canada. You will have to work way harder in med school abroad to get a residency in Canada than the work required in undergrad in Canada to get into med school.

40 minutes ago, pibrahim123 said:

Thank you all for your responses!

Would it be more doable if I wanted to do a residency in the states?