Premed 101 Forums

Second bachelors

Hi all, so I completed my neuroscience BSc at uoft with a 3.59 cGPA and did not take full course load AND my fourth year is my worst performance. So I was thinking of doing it all over again starting from scratch. But my worries are that my previous bachelors gets looked at. Anyone have any advice, as to why I should or should not do this? Or even where to attend for the second bachelors? 

I did a second one, gave me the chance I needed to get in. Second bachelors, especially fast track programs are great because you're done earlier, and you potentially can get another career out of it. But that is the rub, you want to pick something that the career it leads to is something you'd be interested in doing, because the reality is many applicants do not get into med. Another major thing to consider is WHY didn't you do well in the first degree, and make sure you fix that for the second one. Otherwise waste of time or money, unless you just want that second career. Schools like Ryerson, Toronto, and others have fast track for Nursing (which is somewhat subjective in grading), where as programs like Public Health/Occupational Health and Safety are marked more objectively via exams. Take some time to figure out what you think is best for you, look at alternative careers, and go from there. Medicine is a marathon, not a sprint. Good luck :).