Premed 101 Forums

How important is it to have a fun personality?

I'm a 2nd year medical student and I have been very stressed about CaRMS because I am worried that my personality/shyness will hinder my application.

Most of my classmates would agree that I'm nice, polite and easy to work with, and I believe I'll be a hard-warking clerk with decent clinical skills/knowledge. However, when it comes to more casual settings, I see myself as a pretty "boring" person with no particularly interesting hobbies or experiences. As an immigrant who grew up abroad in a completely different culture, I find it difficult to relate to most of peers and physician staff. I'm also a pretty shy and nerdy in general, so during social events I often just smile politely and nodd because I can't think of anything relevant to add to the conversation. When I see my classmates having enthuasitic conversations with program directors and staff physicians (e.g., about research or just life in general), I simply can't imagine myself doing the same.

For CaRMs, it seems that many programs, especially the smaller ones, value whether candidates are a good "fit" with the program. While I think I will be pleasant to work with, I definitely don't think I'm somone fun that others would particularly want to hang out with. And with my shyness, it's hard to imagine myself doing a good job networking with program directors. 

Evidently, it's hard to judge my situation without seeing how I actually come across, but I guess I'm just interested in hearing what people have to say based on my description. 

To really know if your personality is a hindrance, you need to identify and then outright ask someone or several someone’s you trust what their impressions are of you. 

I wouldn’t worry about being too shy or introverted. Medicine contains all kinds of folks. I’d worry more about being too “fun” as you describe it. That, too, can get people in trouble.

good luck!