Premed 101 Forums

Financial aspect of attending Australian vs Canadian school

Hi, so recently I heard from the dentist that I shadow that it may be better for me to attend Australian dental school and start working early rather than completing my bachelor in Canada and then attending Canadian dental school, since completing university + dental school costs money. I am in my second year so if I do go to Australian dental school the following year, I would save 2 years during which I could work and start earning money. If I do get to attend Canadian dental school (whenever that may be), however, I would pay about half the tuition price compared to that of Australian schools. I am still unsure which option would save more money as of now. This is one of the factors to consider.

Another is my chance of getting into dental school in Canada. So, if I do not have much chance at Canadian dental school, sooner or later - I will go to Australian dental school (and the faster that is, the more money I would save.)  But I honestly am not sure about my chances. I currently finished my 2nd year, have ~3.92/4.0 GPA, completed all the pre-reqs, have DAT scores as follows - Carving: 15, PAT: 22, reading: 19 (First time taking DAT). What are my chances in getting into canadian dental school? The only school I believe I have chance would be U of A, as other schools use percentage for GPA and the conversion would bring my GPA down. 

Last factor is that I received a scholarship that covers a great, but not full, amount of my tuition for 4 years of my degree. Considering this and the chance that I may receive additional scholarships (so that I essentially pay very little for my undergraduate education), would it be better to just hope for the best while staying in Canada and continue to try applying for dental schools here rather than attending Australian dental school earlier on?