Premed 101 Forums

If you do a U.S. FM residency, can you come back to Canada to work?

Hi all,

I am currently a Canadian student at a U.S. med school with interests in FM. Quick question: if I were to do a FM residency in the U.S., how would it work if I wanted to come back to Canada to work? What is the process like? (Since the U.S. FM residency is 3 years and the Canadian FM residency is 2 years)

I have been told that if I complete a U.S. FM residency, I will be able to come back to Canada and work. Is this true?

Also, on the CCFP website, there is a page (this link: https://www.cfpc.ca/recognizedtraining/) that talks about coming back to Canada after a U.S. residency. After the section on "approved jurisdictions" it says: "Note: These programs vary from Canadian programs in that training in intrapartum care is not compulsory." 

Does this "Note" have any affect on anything, etc.? (Are there certain U.S. FM residency programs that would not allow me to return to Canada after having completed them, or no? Will the vast majority of them allow me to return, etc.?)

Thank-you for any help/clarification!

• 2 weeks later...

As long as your ABFM is through an ACGME residency you do not need to take the CCFP exam as you are applying under the CCFP designation without examination policy. After submitting your paperwork you are sent an eligibility letter from the CFPC which you then use to apply for provincial registration. Once registered you submit proof of registration to the CFPC, at which point you are granted the CCFP designation.

On 5/10/2019 at 12:00 AM, blueskyguy said:

Does this "Note" have any affect on anything, etc.? (Are there certain U.S. FM residency programs that would not allow me to return to Canada after having completed them, or no? Will the vast majority of them allow me to return, etc.?)

Thank-you for any help/clarification!