Premed 101 Forums

Hi all!

I could use some advice on the next steps to take in my professional career. For the past year, I've been thinking more and more about attending medical school in a near future. I'm a 23 years old - single, no strings attached, no kids - guy and I feel like the longer I wait, the higher the chances are that it'll be too late to get in. But first, a little backstory...

Throughout high school, I've always picked the pre-university classes with the idea that I would be going to university. I finally ended up applying at the collegial level and got accepted in the Primary Care Paramedic program at a french college in Ontario, but kept my classes so I could switch to the university level down the road. I graduated the PCP program in 2017 and ended up in the Advanced Care Paramedic program in the Fall of that year. I was lucky enough to land a job in my hometown as part-time PCP as I am finishing up my ACP preceptorship (preceptorship is the final placement in the truck, providing care to patients with your preceptor's partner and under your preceptor's supervision). As I am approaching the end of my paramedicine-prehospital education, I am trying to figure out my options and the best way to get accepted into med school.

And there you have it: a 23 y/o PCP (soon to be ACP), academically inclined, who's been told a few times he should be going to medical school, and who's passionate about the intricacies in medicine and the human physiology.

My ACP diploma does give me 2 or 3 years of equivalency in a health related bachelor. From the info I've gathered, I'm pretty sure I will still need to get an undergrad with a full-time schedule and that my EMS experience will be an advantage in my application.