Premed 101 Forums

Speciality Q

So, I'm not a doctor, but I'm a health professional who's worked in hospitals for a few years and I'm starting med school in the fall. Here's what I think:

I think this is something you can gain from observerships and during your clerkship. The main idea is that each speciality can have really cool and exciting cases, but that they only come once in a while. For example, ER docs can sometimes have major trauma cases come through, but often they see people who need med refills, have a cold/cough and need a doctor's note or elderly patients who are displaying signs of dementia secondary to a UTI. I think it's also best to ask the residents and docs about what they consider a typical day - how many patients, the average age, most common chief complaint, etc. that's how you gain an understanding of what their "bread and butter cases" are. Does your school offer opportunities to observe during the pre-clerk years?

1 hour ago, RD2BE said:

So, I'm not a doctor, but I'm a health professional who's worked in hospitals for a few years and I'm starting med school in the fall. Here's what I think:

I think this is something you can gain from observerships and during your clerkship. The main idea is that each speciality can have really cool and exciting cases, but that they only come once in a while. For example, ER docs can sometimes have major trauma cases come through, but often they see people who need med refills, have a cold/cough and need a doctor's note or elderly patients who are displaying signs of dementia secondary to a UTI. I think it's also best to ask the residents and docs about what they consider a typical day - how many patients, the average age, most common chief complaint, etc. that's how you gain an understanding of what their "bread and butter cases" are. Does your school offer opportunities to observe during the pre-clerk years?