Premed 101 Forums

I feel that I am underperforming.. not sure what to do?

I am just beginning  second year at Mac and I started shadowing in a surgical specialty, and I often get asked questions that I cant answer.... For instance, I got asked about toxicity from local anesthetics  and I didn’t know the answer so I guessed palpitations and Nervous system dysfunction, and I always get asked specific questions and sometimes I don’t know the answer. How can I deal with this? How can students do better? I have always done well in my school exams but it seems that I can’t do well when shadowing..

Sounds like you just started post-MF4. Don't worry too much right now, knowledge bases are built over time and part of the utility of that block is to help you direct your studying in more "high yield" clinically relevant areas, and also since this is also your first real clinical exposure there is a bit of a learning curve to how pimping questions can be asked. 

If you don't know an answer you can try to reason it out loud (some preceptors want to see thought process) or you can say that you don't know but that you will look it up – just make sure to actually look it up and get the question right when they ask again (or find a way to demonstrate to them that you took the initiative to read around the topic)

Feel free to PM me

22 minutes ago, Bookmark311 said:

I am just beginning  second year at Mac and I started shadowing in a surgical specialty, and I often get asked questions that I cant answer.... For instance, I got asked about toxicity from local anesthetics  and I didn’t know the answer so I guessed palpitations and Nervous system dysfunction, and I always get asked specific questions and sometimes I don’t know the answer. How can I deal with this? How can students do better? I have always done well in my school exams but it seems that I can’t do well when shadowing..