Premed 101 Forums

• 3 months later...
On 7/10/2019 at 11:39 PM, Doctor26 said:

Who is applying to NOSM this year? 

What does your Context, GPA, Autobiographical Sketch look like?

Hey Doctor26

It's a long shot...but here it is

Context: Born and bred Southern Ontario; Major city

48 years old

Wife and 3 kids

Full 20 year career as physiotherapist

GPA: 3.57 (included Masters 0.2)

Autobio: Relief work in Panama, DR, India, Northern Ontario

Orthopaedic Medicine clinical instructor to MDs.

Physiotherapy Clinical instructor

etc

I have a strong desire to help under-serviced areas all over the world. My weakest links are GPA and I don't live in NO. My strengths are my 20 yr career and I'm a mature student (maybe?)

Good luck to y'all!

• 4 weeks later...
On 10/15/2019 at 9:47 PM, P.T.2M.D. said:

Hey Doctor26

It's a long shot...but here it is

Context: Born and bred Southern Ontario; Major city

48 years old

Wife and 3 kids

Full 20 year career as physiotherapist

GPA: 3.57 (included Masters 0.2)

Autobio: Relief work in Panama, DR, India, Northern Ontario

Orthopaedic Medicine clinical instructor to MDs.

Physiotherapy Clinical instructor

etc

I have a strong desire to help under-serviced areas all over the world. My weakest links are GPA and I don't live in NO. My strengths are my 20 yr career and I'm a mature student (maybe?)

Good luck to y'all!

Wow! You are inspiring. I am also a mature applicant and sometimes I feel down about my age but reading your post was inspiring :) Best of luck

• 2 weeks later...

@P.T.2M.D.

Just reading forums and I want to say thank you for sharing, I'm 30 and have been a nurse for 6 years, planning to apply to NOSM next cycle, and I struggled for a couple years already with thinking I was too old to follow my dream (as many things in life have happened to slow down the process).

It's people like you willing to share your story that make people like me feel better about going after this dream after all.