Premed 101 Forums

Premed Outside of Canada?

I'm going into grade 12 next year and I have the possibility of becoming an EU student. I was thinking of going to a university in the EU (France, Ireland, or Germany) so that I can save a lot of money on tuition. Plus in Ireland undergrad degrees are only 3 years so I could take a gap year without feeling like I "missed out" (which isn't really something I feel anyways). I was wondering if this would harm my chances of getting into a medical school in Canada? I am an Ontario resident and my place of residency would mostly likely not change due to healthcare (I am type 1 diabetic and probably won't transfer my doctors over to wherever I am studying). Would I still be able to apply to Canadian schools as a Canadian resident or would I be considered an international applicant?

Thank you. 

I know some universities don't accept undergrads if not from Canada, so its best to check with the school. 

Even if you are an EU citizen, there are "rules" to determine what qualifies individuals for EU and international fees, so it may be a bit more complicated as there are usually residence requirements.

What about doing med school in the EU? Then you dont even have to have an undergrad. Coming back may be challenging but is manageable.

Also, would be good to check how residence is based when applying to Canadian schools if studying abroad even if you are Canadian, I m not sure having "healthcare" stipulates living in a place.

Just now, Frederick Sanger said:

To be fair, with the significantly low match rate of IMGs (even if Canadian citizens) who pursued medicine outside, the success rate is very very low. It is limited to a few specialties and likely will be near impossible where many people like to pursue their residencies (ie Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver, etc).