Premed 101 Forums

Steps to improving dental school application

Hi everyone, 

I graduated university this year and plan to take my DAT this November, however I am lacking in EC and experience while having an average GPA (cGPA: ~3.7/4.0, last 3 years: 3.86/4.0, and 2yrGPA: 3.97/4.0). I played a varsity sport all four years which took time away from my ability to gain any research experience. My volunteer experience is largely smaller contributions (I was a committee member, healthcare delegate, fundraiser for cancer research, volunteering with athletics... ect.). I wish i was more proactive however didn't really consider what I wanted to do as a career until my final years of my undergrad. 

I was wondering if I stand a chance and/or what steps you think I could take to make my application more competitive. Should I be getting a masters in the meantime before I apply or is something like shadowing a dentist sufficient? Any help would be appreciated, thanks everyone!!

(I am an Ontario applicant). 

Ontario student here, here is how I see it... 

1) You have a pretty great 2yr GPA, which puts you in good standing with Western's program. Your 3yr GPA is fairly good, meaning you could have a shot at UofT (they changed their admissions process to include CASPer, so that may lower the gpa requirement they have had for the past few years)

2) Your next focus should be the DAT. Aiming for a 20+ or even 21+ across the board will really benefit your entire application. A good score and your GPA will give you a solid foundation for this upcoming round.