Premed 101 Forums

USask

tebabeba

I'm an Ontario high school student and I've done a lot of research on med school admissions in Canada. I noticed that USask has BY FAR the highest acceptance rate for IP students and that their criteria for IP status is ridiculously easy to get. My top choices before were McGill, UOttawa, Western, and UBC but now that I've seen this I think it's down to Western and USask. I feel like I'm missing something here because it really can't be that easy to get IP status in Saskatchewan. 

A lot of people, in fact most that I know, don't want to live in Saskatchewan no matter what, nevermind 3 years. It's boring and has none of the vibe of major cities like Toronto or Vancouver. Most people don't do their research early on, are short-sighted in their plans, or just don't care enough about med to move. Remember that you still have to get excellent marks to go to med anywhere, so you still have to work very hard. 

On 9/10/2019 at 11:20 AM, jkadsjfpewklcxnlkasdjpw said:

A lot of people, in fact most that I know, don't want to live in Saskatchewan no matter what, nevermind 3 years. It's boring and has none of the vibe of major cities like Toronto or Vancouver. Most people don't do their research early on, are short-sighted in their plans, or just don't care enough about med to move. Remember that you still have to get excellent marks to go to med anywhere, so you still have to work very hard. 

-

1 hour ago, YesIcan55 said:

Not true for Sask IP. You can get in there with an MCAT in the 490's and GPA below 80. Plus, they don't even consider other things like ECs/research/volunteering in their app. Just look at the acceptance threads / stats. It's almost criminal how unfair it is to get into med from Sask IP.