Premed 101 Forums

Best Province to get IP status?

tebabeba

1 hour ago, tebabeba said:

I'm leaning towards Saskatchewan but I've heard Alberta is also a good bet. What's the best province to get IP status? I'm an Ontarian student. 

Yukon/NWT/Nunavut - you’ll be considered IP for BC, Alberta, and Saskatchewan (and possibly other schools, I am just not up to date on the eligibility across Canada).

7 minutes ago, Pakoon said:

Saskatchewan hands down, pretty much guarantees med.

11 minutes ago, frenchpress said:

Yukon/NWT/Nunavut - you’ll be considered IP for BC, Alberta, and Saskatchewan (and possibly other schools, I am just not up to date on the eligibility across Canada).

What uni's are in the territories? I'm a high school student and looking to go for a trad route atm. I looked at Yukon College (it's a university) but they don't have any science degrees so I wouldn't be able to do any prereqs lmao. 

@tebabeba ah, in that case I don’t know that I would recommend it. There are not many options for post secondary up north, so I don’t think it’s a great option for you straight out of high school if you want to do Science. Moving north is probably better for opening up IP options for those who are done school/working and willing to move.

1 hour ago, ysera said:

sorry meant memorial and dalhousie

I looked into that (would MUCH rather live in St John's) but for Dal they require you to be an "independent student" (i.e be financially independent and not a university student) for 3 years in any Maritime province. So that just leaves MUN and the acceptance rate for USask is much higher. 

On 9/10/2019 at 11:14 AM, RiderSx said:

Best possible province to move to would be Yukon as it will give you IP status to UBC, Calgary, Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Memorial. 

I second this ^