Premed 101 Forums

What are my chances *Suspension* UofT Med School

Hi everyone,

I am currently a second year student at UOttawa in Biomedical sciences. My GPA for first year was very low due to mental health reasons, in fact, it was so low that I was put on academic suspension for second year. In my school, you can still take classes while you're on academic suspension, but they count as "academic upgrading" classes. So far, I am doing really well in my classes, I've gotten A+'s on all of my midterms.

Assuming the best, assuming I get a 4.0 in every single class for 2nd, 3rd and 4th year, and end up with a 3.8+ GPA (repeating the classes I didn't do well in in the summer to replace the grades) do I still have a chance in getting into UofT's med school?

I am doing many extracurriculars, doctor shadowing, and plan on doing some research work as well.

Is my academic suspension/withdrawal going to be visible on my transcript? If it is, is it completely impossible to get into med school with it on my transcript, even if I get a very high GPA, very high MCAT score and many extracurriculars? 

Do not be stressed out. Just do the best you can and you will be treated as a serious candidate on the merits. Broaden your horizons, all Canadian medical schools are excellent and it is impossible to know when and where lightning will strike. I would not be concerned with your academic past, rather look  to the present and the future! Good luck.

1 hour ago, Stresssedout said:

(repeating the classes I didn't do well in in the summer to replace the grades)

Canadian schools don't do grade replacement. The number on your transcript will forever be the number on your transcript as far as they're concerned. Only repeat the courses you need to, ideally during the typical academic year to save time during the summers, and since some schools ignore summer courses.