Premed 101 Forums

USask vs UCalgary and UoA

tebabeba

Hello. I'm a grade 12 student in Ontario and to maximize my chances at getting into med school I want to study in either Alberta or Saskatchewan. From the statistics I've seen, Saskatchewan has a higher acceptance rate but Alberta has two med schools. Which province is better to get IP status?  

No med school in Canada is "easy" to get into. I do not know about USask, but U of C and U of A are very competitive as they require extremely good extracurriculars. I think staying in Ontario would be nice, as you have multiple med schools to choose from, and I heard that Ontario schools usually care about grades only, and maybe a couple of ECs, with the exception of U of T, but still it is mostly grade based. The amount of diverse ECs you need to have a shot at U of C and U of A is a lot, as U of C looks at Top Ten experiences and U of A has 16 positions to fill out in the EC section. U of C also likes taking more mature applicants, who have years of experience and also very diverse ECs. I have a friend who left Alberta to go to Ontario because he thinks it is easier to get in because it is more heavily weighted on GPA, but who knows. Each school has its own unique requirements.

50 minutes ago, tryingtogetthrough said: