Premed 101 Forums
Sign in to follow this  
trainchai

Next steps for a 30-year-old Lawyer?

As the title says, I'm a 30-year-old lawyer considering a career change into medicine. I've been seriously considering medicine for the last couple of years. I enjoy the intellectual challenge of law and the lifelong learning component. However, I find the adversarial nature of practice to be draining, and the work is more about money than it is about people. Also, working in 'big law', there is not much meaningful, personal interaction with clients. Of course there are opportunities to help those truly in need as a lawyer, but these roles do not pay well. I expect that medicine will offer the same benefits as law (intellectual challenge, lifelong learning, financial security), but will also satisfy the meaningful, personal interaction I'm looking for. I understand that both careers involve significant challenges and frustrations, but I would rather get out of bed everyday trying to do some good for another person rather than gearing up for a legal battle over money. 

I would really appreciate your feedback on my stats, as well as recommendations for next steps to improve my likelihood of admission. The complicating factor for me is that most medical schools will consider my law degree as an undergraduate degree (despite our grades being curved). Also, I come from an Arts background so I have been self-studying for the MCAT. I'm not sure if I need to consider a second undergrad? Are there any schools in particular you think I stand a reasonable chance of admission for?

Thanks very much.

Academics

Undergrad:

• Year 1: 3.0
  • Year 2: 3.3
  • Year 3: 3.3
  • Year 4: 4.0

Law: 3.17 (curved)

MCAT

• 2017: CARS 128 (only wrote this section as I applied only to McMaster)
  • Need to rewrite full exam this year

ECs

• Pro bono lawyer assisting clients detained under the Mental Health Act (200 hours)
  • Crisis Line work (280 hours)