Premed 101 Forums

First Year GPA

Hey everyone,

I am not sure how to properly word my question, but I was wondering what a good GPA is for first year if I want to go to medical school. I am sort of stressing because I don't think I will be able to get a 4.0 GPA this year, but I should end up with a 3.9+. I know that many schools in Ontario (except McMaster) have wGPA or take away some of your bad marks depending on the school, but I'm planning to apply to medical school during third year, so none of that would apply to me. So if hypothetically, I end up with a 3.9 GPA is this bad? I was looking at the median GPAs and U of T is like 3.97, so I am not sure how much fist year will impact my GPA

Also, I am fairly new to this country and I would love any help from anyone regarding medical school in general. If you are currently in medical school or an applicant, how was your first-year in university? Is there any advice you would give to yourself if you could talk to your first-year self? Anything is appreciated. Thank you so so much.

1 hour ago, breakingcycle said:

Hey everyone,

I am not sure how to properly word my question, but I was wondering what a good GPA is for first year if I want to go to medical school. I am sort of stressing because I don't think I will be able to get a 4.0 GPA this year, but I should end up with a 3.9+. I know that many schools in Ontario (except McMaster) have wGPA or take away some of your bad marks depending on the school, but I'm planning to apply to medical school during third year, so none of that would apply to me. So if hypothetically, I end up with a 3.9 GPA is this bad? I was looking at the median GPAs and U of T is like 3.97, so I am not sure how much fist year will impact my GPA