Premed 101 Forums

Advice regarding bipolar diagnosis

Hey everyone,

I am a medical student and I was recently diagnosed with Bipolar Type 1 disorder. I was initially interested in pursuing ophthalmology. After my diagnosis, I am now thinking that maybe I should take it easy and go into family medicine as the duration of training will be shorter and also less stressful. Also in family medicine I will have more control over my schedule. I know family medicine won't be as fullfilling as ophthalmology but still I can see myself doing it. It won't be the end of the world.

What do you guys think? Any advice would be appreciated, especially from someone who is in a similar situation or knows someone in a similar situation. 

6 hours ago, SGSP said:

Hey everyone,

I am a medical student and I was recently diagnosed with Bipolar Type 1 disorder. I was initially interested in pursuing ophthalmology. After my diagnosis, I am now thinking that maybe I should take it easy and go into family medicine as the duration of training will be shorter and also less stressful. Also in family medicine I will have more control over my schedule. I know family medicine won't be as fullfilling as ophthalmology but still I can see myself doing it. It won't be the end of the world.

What do you guys think? Any advice would be appreciated, especially from someone who is in a similar situation or knows someone in a similar situation. 

With all due respect, if you're letting that diagnosis limit you and drastically alter your career aspirations like that, then I'm not sure you're suitable for Family Medicine either. 

14 minutes ago, Intrepid86 said:

With all due respect, if you're letting that diagnosis limit you and drastically alter your career aspirations like that, then I'm not sure you're suitable for Family Medicine either.