Premed 101 Forums

Chances to US med school

Hi there,

I need help regarding my current situation. I am a uoft engineering graduate who intends to apply to Canadian and US medical schools (with the US being more probable in my situation) during the next few cycles. I am in this constant dilemma of choosing between pursuing a fifth year to improve my chances vs working and supporting my family while applying. I know that there is a number of people here that can give me insights regarding the most optimal path I can take. Here are my stats;

1st year, 1st semester (6 courses), 1.85, 2nd semester (5 courses), 3.2

2nd year, 1st semester (4 courses), 3.92, 2nd semester(5 courses), 3.87

3rd year, 1st semester (5 courses), 3.76, 2nd semester (5 courses), 3.89

4th year, 1st semester (5 courses), 4.0, 2nd semester (6 courses), 4.0

I know my first year (specially my first semester) bring my overall GPA down to 3.5 (I had a serious personal issue). From an application perspective, do I need a fifth year to boost my grades, or will US medical schools be forgiving given the last 3 years marks? I am talking solely from a GPA perspective. 

Please, your input means a lot to me, I am relatively new to the entire process and I am having problems figuring out the best route in my situation. Your response is really appreciated.

Well, one of the benefits of pursuing medical education in the United States are the great variety of options with respect to schools and the types of candidates they accept.  Many schools in particular will reward upward trends and will appreciate the rigours of the engineering program you were in.  Please do remember that unlike Canada, medical schools in the United States can often be expensive, and have a lengthy list of prerequisite courses that need to be completed.