Premed 101 Forums

Getting 2 lines of credit on the same day.

ThatCanadianGuy

I'm a second year medical student who is looking for some first/second/third hand information! I went to a couple banks today to ask about student lines of credit and they were practically jumping out of their seats to sign me up for 350k each. I seem to remember this being talked about somewhere on the form, but I can't remember. Anyway, what's stopping me from going in one day and snagging 2 lines of credit on the same day? When you have this much money on hand, why not go big in Vegas!?? 

OR buy a rental property. It looks like mortage rates are lower than LOC rates? Has anyone on here used their lines of credit to buy a rental property? 

22 minutes ago, Meridian said:

They do talk -  and you would be committing fraud by not disclosing the first line of credit when applying for the second.

Yes some students do use their LOC for buying property or investing.   Most need it for what it is intended for to pay for your education though.

I know of some who ended up south of the border for medical school, and did exactly this - get two LOCs approved on the same day. Definitely don't reccomend that, and the inherent risk involved with overleveraging and relying on funding that may very well be pulled, but it has happened before without much consequence. 

This is a diff scenario though, where they definitely do not need 2 lOCS.

15 hours ago, ThatCanadianGuy said:

I'm a second year medical student who is looking for some first/second/third hand information! I went to a couple banks today to ask about student lines of credit and they were practically jumping out of their seats to sign me up for 350k each. I seem to remember this being talked about somewhere on the form, but I can't remember. Anyway, what's stopping me from going in one day and snagging 2 lines of credit on the same day? When you have this much money on hand, why not go big in Vegas!??