Premed 101 Forums

Help me pick a specialty

Hi all, 

I'm a third year student coming up against some challenges in figuring out what I'm interested in pursuing in residency. I've done a fair number of rotations (a bunch of core rotations including surgery, CTU, EM) and spent both preclerkship summers stocked full of  informal rotations/electives in neurology, cardiology, ENT, gen sx and 4 weeks of family medicine in various settings (broad-scope docs doing Obs, addictions, women's health). Came to med as a non-trad, so explored a TON of stuff because I had no frame of reference. 

Basically, I haven't really found anything I can see myself doing. Maybe I haven't cast my net as wide as I should and so I thought I'd ask the forum to see if anybody has any ideas. 

Here is a list of what I've thought about: 

-rapid, fast-paced, efficient (one hour long complex IM consults are not my cup of tea) 

-I enjoy working a little bit with my hands, but can't stand the rigidity of the OR or big long complex surgical cases 

-don't enjoy taking histories (prefer imaging, lab work, thinking about cases without actually talking to anybody)

-not family medicine, IM, psych or pathology

-preferably approach problems from a consultant's lens vs primary care 

-don't love ambiguity or unsolved problems (but can tolerate some)

-ability to have my own space/clinic where I can make decisions myself

-not directly working as part of a team (can tolerate some interaction but don't like group rounds, CTU-style, or interdisciplinary-style rounds) 

-innovation / new things / lots of research / dislike "this is the way it's always been done" attitudes 

-I prefer working with serious people (rather than laid back, chill people) .