Premed 101 Forums

A REALLY BAD R SCORE

Smika

Hey, 

im a college student with a really bad r score (I’m talking 22...) but I have still two semesters left and really want to be a pediatrician. Is it still possible for me to get into médecine? What can I do to get in? What are my options? Do I really have to give up the idea? Pls help me out... I’m so lost:(

17 hours ago, Suvatmikka said:

Hey, 

im a college student with a really bad r score (I’m talking 22...) but I have still two semesters left and really want to be a pediatrician. Is it still possible for me to get into médecine? What can I do to get in? What are my options? Do I really have to give up the idea? Pls help me out... I’m so lost:(

It might take you another few years in university, but don't give up if this is really what you want!!!! You'll see how fast it goes by

On 12/17/2019 at 8:11 AM, Bambi said:

Are you in Cégep or university?

If in Cégep, read every post here: 

I did and I also checked the admission requisites for the program and it said I have to have 27 of R score for it

do you have any other options?

Also that so much for answering! It is giving some hope:)

On 12/17/2019 at 3:12 PM, MEDusa said:

It might take you another few years in university, but don't give up if this is really what you want!!!! You'll see how fast it goes by

Thank you for the kind words! 

How does the process work?
how can I get there?

I have such a trashy r score :(

When I finished Cegep, I had a mix of amazing and terrible grades. In the end, I put medicine on hold and pursued other interests in university. 3 degrees later including a masters I decided to apply. I went for degrees that gave me employment opportunities in fields that I enjoyed and I have a professional degree in healthcare. Because I was passionate about it, I got great grades which translate to higher chances of getting an interview on top of my professional title and CV.