Premed 101 Forums

Canadian Student w/low GPA - 2nd degree, Masters, or tough it out in undergrad for longer?

Hi all,

This has been asked tons of times before and is definitely not an uncommon topic, but I've done enough scouring over the years that I finally decided to make an account and ask for some personalized advice. As the title says, I am a Canadian student with a low cumulative GPA, and I was looking into doing either a 2nd degree or a Masters...or just staying in undergrad for longer. I am not looking to apply to USMD/DO schools, as I cannot afford to. I am a BC resident. Additionally, I know that I am basically out of the running for Alberta, Sask, Manitoba, MUN, Dal, and UOttawa. Also possibly Western (unless I somehow manage to do 2 years with an OMSAS GPA of 3.7+), and Mac (unless my CARS is stellar). I am mainly aiming for UBC and Queens, but if anyone has other information then please correct me!

My cumulative GPA by the time I finish my degree will be about 3.0 (on a 4.33 scale - so a B average). I'm currently finishing a BA in Health Sciences (HSCI, so, social determinants of health, population/public health), and my HSCI GPA will be about 3.9 ish by the time I'm done.