Premed 101 Forums

University of Manitoba Dentistry Program

Hi there,

I am a third year undergrad trying to get into Dentistry, specifically aiming for the University of Manitoba. If anyone could help and steer me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated. There's a lot of info on here but most of it is for other schools such as UofT. So I guess I have a couple of questions for anyone who knows about UManitoba's acceptance rates, averages etc.

1) There is a lot of talk AGPAs but not a lot about core course averages. If you were accepted or know anyone who has been accepted into the program, do you mind sharing your AGPA as well as your core course GPA? I'm asking because I would like to know if anyone has ever been accepted with a low core course GPA of 3.7 (which happens to be mine lol).

2) I find myself stressed trying to get all A's in my science courses. In my first year I managed to get all A's. In my second year and third year I got a range of B and B+'s. Is there room for error in getting B's and B+'s? or is my dream of being a dentist over because I don't have all A's?

3) UManitoba lists their minimum core course average and DAT score on the application as 3.60 (2019) and 18.50 (2019). This being the minimum, would you have a good chance of being accepted being near the minimum? Some previous applicants who I have seen on this forum have GPAs typically around 3.9-4 range. 

4) Are only the top students accepted into the program? Like those who have high GPAs and high DAT scores? Or is there a chance with those who have a mediocre GPA/DAT and possibly a good interview?

To anyone that answers, thank you for any advice.

Hey!

1) I'm IP and got in with a 3.8 core course GPA and ~4.0 or so aGPA.