Premed 101 Forums

Medical School Appears to Threaten Ejection Over Late Tuition

Hi,

I am a 4th year medical student at a canadian medical school. My school has currently suspended my student file because I accidentally missed my tuition payment for the autumn 2019 semester leading to the loss of my malpractice insurance and thus the inability to complete my current rotation. This was done without any warning except for a single email with a vague object line and no flag that I've only just now realised I've received a month ago... No phone call, letter or anything. The current situation has me worried for a few reasons:

1) Their emails mention that the suspension of my files implies that I "cannot continue to attend my academic activities" without any specification of whether that is temporary or permanent (i.e. it isn't cleared whether it's a temporary administrative measure or I'm expelled)

2) I'm supposed to finish my degree in a couple months which greatly limits my options in the event that I end up failing my current rotation because of an excessive amount of missed days

3) I don't feel like getting expelled 4 months away from finishing my degree with a six-figure debt and no way to repay it outside of practicing medicine

So far, I've tried to contact many people but have been unable to get a hold of anyone despite several phone calls and emails to the clerkship administrator, program director, program administrative director and undergraduate medical program dean. The only information I could gather was that even though I have obviously made the necessary payment, my file can't be reoponed unless it's a wednesday for some reason. They couldn't give my any information about what happens once my file is reopened and whether I can continue my degree.