Premed 101 Forums
skmedschool

Non traditional route- Student, singlemother looking to get into U of C Medshcool.

Hi everyone, I need some advice please 

I am a 36 year old single mother, coming from an immigrant background I started my journey from ESL to academic upgrading to University of Calgary. I got my BSc  in Biological science in 2017 from U of C. I have no family support so I was on Student loan the entire time, right after gradation I had a get a full-time job asap to start paying my loan. My GPA from the last 2 years of my studies is not great (2.9). I was having part-time job my whole university time to help pay the bills. On the plus side, my son followed my footsteps in perusing higher education and is also a U of C (Engg) student now and I can't be prouder of him. 

- I work right now for a big oil and gas company. 

-I have paid a big portion of my student loan since graduation, thanks to my current job. 

-I have Volunteer experience [more than 300 hours at the:  1- Calgary Hospitals, 2- caring for children with mental disabilities {tutoring in math and sciences}, 3- helping low-income women like myself in Women In Need society, 4- helping low-income families in Community associations in my neighborhood {disturbing food and warm clothing}. ]

-I have several letters of recommendations from my Professors, agencies that I have worked or volunteered for. 

I wanted to ask if someone could please give me some advice on what should I do. I want to go back to school and get to Medshool here in U of C. I know that my gpa is not the greatest. But I am ready to do whatever it takes to bring it up to where it should be. I am currently prepping for the MCAT. I want to write the MCAT this upcoming summer. 

I was wondering if someone could please give me some advice on what should I do? 

1- should I go and try a 2nd degree and if that is a good option?