Premed 101 Forums

Do you need the MCAT to go to Med school in Australia?

Hi all,

I am currently in my last year of undergrad and am considering all my med school options. 

Do I need to take the MCAT if I want to go to med school in Australia? I know there are some programs that do not require the MCAT but they are 6 years. Would I be able to skip 2 years since I already have the pre-req courses? 

My apologies if this has already been answered, I am new to the forum.

• 3 months later...

Not all Australian medical schools require the MCAT. 

I work for the University of Tasmania School of Medicine, and we have created a Canadian Pathway - designed for Canadian students who want to study medicine in Australia, and keep their options open and apply for Australian internship as well as Canadian residencies through CARMS. We are a 5yr medical degree, and our Canadian medical graduates will have completed all of the Australian requirements for internship, as well as all Canadian exams, plus completion of their electives at our partner university, Memorial University in Newfoundland. The added bonus is that we don't require the MCAT for admission. 

We use an entrance exam called the ISAT. It is a computer-based 3hr exam designed to assess problem solving skills, rather than science knowledge. It is designed to be taken without studying, as the goal of the exam is to give us a profile of how your brain critically appraises and solves problems. It can be taken at most testing centres in North America. Our Canadian applicants this year were able to take the exam in Canada, so it seems that Covid has not limited exam centre availability, which has been reassuring for applicants.