Premed 101 Forums

Did not match - advice ?

1 hour ago, medical_grad said:

Hi everyone,

I am an IMG graduate and did not match this year with one interview. 

Done research, publications, observerships, etc. Any advice on how I can get more interviews and make sure I match? 

Thank you 

As an IMG the odds are stacked against you, trying to keep making connections and work on your interviewing is best you can do. 

Consider writing USMLES and get US clinical experience perhaps, to try and open up a door there.

• 1 month later...
On 3/17/2020 at 7:02 PM, medical_grad said:

I applied to FM and IM.

I did most US electives also.

Did you fail a USMLE step? FM is not a hard match at all if you pass all of your step exams. I have IMG friends who failed a step and still managed to match FM. IM on the other hand is more competitive. 

On 4/21/2020 at 3:55 PM, RadCdn said:

Did you fail a USMLE step? FM is not a hard match at all if you pass all of your step exams. I have IMG friends who failed a step and still managed to match FM. IM on the other hand is more competitive. 

Yes I have one attempt for USMLE step 1. 

Any advice on what helped your friends match with the failed attempt? 

I think it's important to network, programs will generally pick a candidate they've met or worked with, over a random name on piece of paper.

Try using FREIDA if you haven't yet to find programs that'll sponsor visas for residency/fellowship for Canadians. New York is very IMG friendly from what I've been told, but I've heard (from friends in NYC) that the residents are very miserable there compared to elsewhere in the US. The USMLES aren't the easiest exams by any means, so I think many programs will overlook a failed attempt, as long as you finish the USMLE step 3, network, interview well, etc