Premed 101 Forums

Hello everyone. I am a 2nd year medical student with a recently-found interest in a competitive surgical specialty. I want to start racking up some research experience for this specialty but I have no previous research experience and I have no idea where to start. So I have a few questions:

1. How do you find a research supervisor? What are the criteria that I should be looking for when choosing a research supervisor (e.g staff that's on adcom etc.)?

2. Ideally, I would like to match to my home province not the one that I am currently in. Is it feasible/advisable to go with a supervisor from another school?

3. What kind of project should I join? How do I know which projects are publishable (especially before my CaRMS application deadline)?

4. What is the typical time commitment required? Is it feasible to do research with clerkship?

5. What is the goal here - quality or quantity?

I'll try to answer this as best I can. I come from a University that does not have a great deal of surgical sub-specialities, but I still managed to match this year, so hopefully my insight might still be useful for you.

1. How do you find a research supervisor? What are the criteria that I should be looking for when choosing a research supervisor (e.g staff that's on adcom etc.)?

If your school has summer research projects for students, then that would be a good place to start. Alternatively, you can try emailing staff who have a history of doing research, and explain to them that you're interested in specialty X, and are wondering if they have any projects that might need more help.

2. Ideally, I would like to match to my home province not the one that I am currently in. Is it feasible/advisable to go with a supervisor from another school?

I would not recommend this. You'll have opportunities to meet staff at places you want to match to when you do electives. Research, in my experience, is not a very high yield area to have on your CV anyway.