Premed 101 Forums

Best Programs for Surgical Specialties

Hi all,

First time poster long time lurker. I'm a second year medical student at the University of Ottawa, and I was wondering what are considered the "best" surgical/subsurgical programs from a residency perspective. Obviously, all Canadian programs are good, but I've heard that some programs allow their residents to do more cutting, some have a crowding of learners, some lack bread butter presentations due to training being distributed between centres, some avoid open surgeries like the plague while others still provide exposure of open surgeries etc... 

Putting aside "prestige" or emphasis on research and focusing strictly on clinical experience, what are your thoughts on programs that are most sought after for the experience they provide?

thanks 

I'd argue that there's no such thing as the best surgical program, there's only the surgical program that best fits your specific needs. For the vast majority of surgical programs in Canada you will come out competent in bread and butter procedures (less confident in some research heavy ones but really those residencies are designed for academia and you will likely be doing a fellowship anyway so it balances out). The most important thing in my opinion when looking at surgical programs is fit and location. Operative exposure ends up being similar throughout the country (in fact the program I visited with the most operative exposure had residents telling me to avoid the program at all costs if I didn't have family in the city). How supportive staff and senior residents are will be the biggest difference. While location may not seem important early in med school, during electives it makes a huge difference being close to your support structure.