Premed 101 Forums

Need some advice please

Hello everyone,

Sorry to create a new thread of this sort, but I don't think my situation is quite the same as others on this thread.
Basically, I'm wondering if I have a chance to get into an MD program or if I should just give up at this point.

I'm studying physiotherapy at UdeM, currently at my last year of undergrad. Doing the masters next year.

Grades: 1rst year UG: 2.74, 2nd year UG: 3.68, 3rd year UG: 3.95 (projected) , cGPA: 3.31
(these grades are calculated on a 4.0 scale according to my % final grades, because UdeM grades are on a 4.3 scale)

My first year is really bad due to many extenuating circumstances piled up (that I can prove), and the upward trend is related to the fact that these extenuating circumstances are now gone and taken care of. Without my first year, my cGPA goes up to a 3.815

I'm wondering two things:
1) Considering this, should I take my MCAT? I don't have to take it because I'm a Quebec citizen, but if it will help I may take it.
2) If, considering the upward trend + the fact that I'll have a Masters (with good grades hopefully), and potentially a great MCAT (if I end up taking it), is it worth a shot? Maybe at McGill with the extenuating circumstances portion? Or any other university potentially?

Thank you for any type of input, it is much appreciated. I'm a realist, so no need to sugarcoat anything, just let me know if it's worth pursuing (spending money on MCAT + continuing ECs during my Master's), or to just accept the fact that it is not possible.

Hey!

So while there is no guarantee with even a perfect GPA or MCAT score those things definitely help. However, I would not say you are a lost cause! 

I don't know much about Quebec schools however if you consider schools in Ontario you have a chance if you are able to keep that GPA high. 

Each school in Ontario look at GPA differently, so best to look at each medical school's website and make a chart. 

On the top of my head: