Premed 101 Forums

second degree vs. master?

Hello all,

I finished my bachelor of nursing at Mcgill last year but my GPA wasn't good,

1st year: 3.49/4.0 & 3.16/4.0

2nd year: 3.02/4.0 & 2.61/4.0

3rd year: 3.85/4.0 & 4.0/4.0

My cumulative GPA is 3.27.

I am thinking about going to med school now, but because of my low GPA, I wonder if it will be more beneficial to obtain a second degree or have a master degree??

Thanks for any advice!

Masters won’t help a poor GPA. Sure some schools like UofA and Dal use your grad GPA as a full year but it won’t be sufficient to make your GPA competitive even if you get a 4.0 in that year. 

Now,  if you can get a 3.9+ in your fourth year, it could make you competitive for some schools like queens and western by itself. But an extra year of masters would give you additional eligibility for UofA, UofC and some others. 

On 4/14/2020 at 7:02 PM, zxcccxz said:

Masters won’t help a poor GPA. Sure some schools like UofA and Dal use your grad GPA as a full year but it won’t be sufficient to make your GPA competitive even if you get a 4.0 in that year. 

Now,  if you can get a 3.9+ in your fourth year, it could make you competitive for some schools like queens and western by itself. But an extra year of masters would give you additional eligibility for UofA, UofC and some others. 

Thank you for your answer. I forgot to mention that I came from Quebec Cegep so I only need to have 3 years to complete the bachelor, I guess a second degree will be my only option then.

• 4 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
On 5/11/2020 at 6:45 PM, MedSchoolHope101 said:

I would definitely go for a second degree, especially if you can do one in two years.

McGill will only look at the GPA of the undergrad that you did best in for admission. Also, looking at the major improvement in your 3rd year, you could have great chances at uOttawa if you get a high GPA in your second undergrad.