Premed 101 Forums

How can i improve my application?

Graduated with distinction (3.6< for last 3 years) but have overall a low gpa 3.4 with upward trend (2.7- 4.0 in my last year). i was very ill during my first three years and struggled a lot with my mental and physical health. didnt get help until my third year which is when i started to actually do well in school (3.7, 4.0 for my last two years). I will write about my struggles where appropriate but i am proud i persevered and came out stronger. feeling very discouraged but i am determined no matter what.

no publications but i have been a research assistant for 3+ years.
multiple leadership positions (VP of a club, senior member coordinator, secretary, orientation leader),
i have been volunteering at the hospital for 3+ years and at a womens shelter for half a year(debating going back now that i have more time) my club also did a lot of fundrasing and awareness.
ive been a nanny for 5 years and currently working at technology retail store to improve my social, active listening and communication skills.
i did an international medical shadowing program in europe and am learning spanish as a hobby. going to travel europe in the future as well.

my reference are from an undergrad program director who i have a good relationship will and offered to write me a letter before i even asked. i know my referees well and know they will give me  a glowing refernce. 
how are my chances considering i do well on the mcat? (515 +).and how can i improve my application? ive already graduated so i cant do much about my gpa- it is what it is. i applied to be a mentor to youth this summer. 
i will be applying to u of alberta, u of calgary, mcmasters and queens.