Premed 101 Forums

OSAP for Quebec Residents

I am a Quebec resident, and I recently realized that medical studies outside Quebec are not eligible for government financial aid. What options are available for students in my situation? Would it be possible to become an Ontario resident in that case and apply for OSAP (or at least get the federal aid portion)? I am wondering if anyone was in the same boat. I would appreciate any assistance! 

1 minute ago, YesIcan55 said:

just curious why anyone would need to take loans from the government/OSAP/etc when banks give you a LOC $350K upfront..??

OSAP gives you grants that you don't have to pay back, as well as a loan.

And from my understanding, the loans from OSAP have no interest until you graduate / finish but LOC has interest throughout your studies. 

2 minutes ago, theinbetween said:

OSAP gives you grants that you don't have to pay back, as well as a loan.

And from my understanding, the loans from OSAP have no interest until you graduate / finish but LOC has interest throughout your studies. 

Exactly. Moreover, with a LOC you'll accumulate a lot of interest over the years so it really should be considered a last resort 

Yes, become an Ontario resident, change your Driver’s Licence, registration of your car, join up with OHIP, notifying La Régie, give change of address to your banks, etc., file income tax return with CRA only, not Quebec, deal with the same bank but with a branch in Ontario.

4 minutes ago, Bambi said:

Yes, become an Ontario resident, change your Driver’s Licence, registration of your car, join up with OHIP, notifying La Régie, give change of address to your banks, etc., file income tax return with CRA only, not Quebec, deal with the same bank but with a branch in Ontario.