Premed 101 Forums

Honestly Just Tired

Hey everyone,

Just wanted to share a bit about how I've been feeling.

I've been applying to ubc as an in-province applicant for the past 3 years now, straight regrets each time. I have written the MCAT 3 times, from a 507 the first time I applied, to an ineligible 512 (123 cars) last year, to a 517 this past cycle. I have a 90+% average, and my TFR has been ~58 (1st time) to ~54, to ~62 this year (using inspect element).

The first year I applied 3 years ago, I knew I bombed the interview. I was young, I didn't know what to expect, and I didn't really have any life experiences at that point. Over these past two years, I've just been living my life, doing things I love to do, hobbies, pursuing work and research outside of school I enjoy, hoping that it will help me in all areas, including helping me become a more suitable candidate for medicine.

The second cycle, I got another below average interview score. Very surprising, because I got good feedback from more than half the interviewers. Even though it was unbelievably disappointing, it was okay. I was just going to keep applying, and continue working on becoming a stronger applicant. I knew my ineligible mcat wasn't helping my case, so I redid the MCAT and was fortunate to get a very good score this time around.

This past year, I have been an active member of toastmasters and another speaking course to improve my speaking, thinking that it would help me as a speaker, and at the interview too. One of the best decisions I've honestly made.

I really thought this would be the year. The interview wasn't perfect, but it wasn't bad by any means. I felt confident, relaxed, not nervous at all. I felt like I could relate a personal story to many of the questions. When d-day came along on the 13th, I really didn't expect another rejection. Another below average interview, another disappointment. I don't really know how to improve at this point, but I will keep trying.