Premed 101 Forums

Lawyer - Opinion on Chances

I've been a lawyer for two years. During my UG Biology degree I interviewed for med school twice (Mac two years) but did not get in. I am content being a lawyer but being a doctor is not leaving my mind; in a way I think of not getting in and not becoming a doc as a personal failure and a way that I let myself down previously. Law was the backup plan. It's not that I necessarily dreamed of being a doctor but I could have gotten better grades, done better on the MCAT with better preparation, and prepped better for the interviews I did have. 

I know I would not be a strong candidate but I'm just looking for realistic appraisals of my chances. I am not completely informed on any and all quirks that could affect or help more mature applicants and would appreciate anybody pointing any such things out that might benefit me. 

These are my OMSAS converted grades, based on my quick tabulation:

• cGPA: 3.57 across all 4 UG years and 3 Law school years.
  • UG GPA: 3.74 (little trend year-to-year: 3.70, 3.76, 3.78, and 3.70)
  • Law GPA: 3.35 (3.37, 3.20, and 3.54)

Law school is a huge handicap for these purposes based on what I've read, since it's treated in med apps as just a normal UG degree. My school had a strict curve where only 15% receive As in any class, which means 60+% are getting 3.0 or 3.3 grades. I don't think any med schools really care about law degree difficulty. Maybe some give brownie points but it's not known or even in their written policies. 

Graduated from UG in 2013 and Law in 2017.