Premed 101 Forums

Research before undergraduate studies

Hi everyone

I am a grade 11 student in Alberta and I was wondering if there are any research opportunities I can take before I enter undergraduate studies.

My desired university is the University of Alberta.

Additionally, it would be very helpful if you guys could share any research or health related extracurriculars you guys did in high school.

Thanks!

The heritage youth research summer student (HYRS) program is actually exactly what you would be looking for. https://www.ualberta.ca/medicine/about/communities/community-engagement/student-summer-prgms/hyrs-student-summer-research-program-2020

You won't be able to do anything this summer (it's too late, and COVID is an issue), but you could potentially get a position next year. Generally speaking unless you go through a formal program like HYRS you just need to email professors and ask if they would let you work in their lab for the summer.

I did research extensively in high school, leading to publications. I'm glad I started early bc it opened up so many doors for me in my undergraduate studies (e.g. Paid research positions, close ties with professors, put onto big projects, etc). So it's great you're looking into it so early. 

I recommend you try out your high school co-op program as they may have connections with local laboratories for hs students like you to work with. Also try emailing clinician scientists or professors to see if you can do anything. Don't expect to get anything back but be proactive. 

On 6/12/2020 at 12:39 PM, adhominem said:

The heritage youth research summer student (HYRS) program is actually exactly what you would be looking for. https://www.ualberta.ca/medicine/about/communities/community-engagement/student-summer-prgms/hyrs-student-summer-research-program-2020