Premed 101 Forums

On 7/19/2020 at 11:50 PM, offmychestplease said:

McGill OOP accepted 10 people this year from nearly 1000 applications, just so you are aware. That's a 1% acceptance rate and the mode GPA was 4.0 and min was 3.90. Dal OOP is also extremely competitive. Not saying this to discourage you but some things you should know before embarking on this path. 

-

I agree with offmychestplease. Three more points for you to consider:

1. Do you actually think you'd be okay with starting medicine at 30? That's a major life disruption. Basically, you'd have given away your 20s and 30s to academic work. Please consider this seriously. Your life will be on hold until you're ~40. If you decide to marry and have kids during med school or residency, you won't have much time for them (even if you do family medicine, your life during med school and residency will still be nearly all-consuming). I am studying nearly non-stop every day and I started med school at 27. Please make sure that you are willing to sacrifice your 20s and 30s for what, at the end of the day, is just a job.